RPSC Berson-Yalow Award

The Berson-Yalow Award celebrates the contributions of Solomon A. Berson, MD, and Rosalyn S. Yalow, PhD (Nobel Laureate 1977), who pioneered the principle of the competitive binding assay and used it to develop the field of radioimmunoassay, which become a mainstay of early nuclear medicine. Since radioimmunoassay is no longer used extensively, this award will continue to recognize outstanding original work in the field of Nuclear Medicine, and recognize the use of competitive receptor-binding assays in vitro and/or in vivo.

Congratulations to the 2014 Berson-Yalow Award Winner - Xiang Zhang, PhD

Dr. Zhang won for his abstract entitled, "PET Specificity Studies of (-)-[11C]TZ659 for Imaging VAChT in NHP Brain."  

Xiang Zhang - B-Y Winner

Satoshi Minoshima, MD, PhD, Chair of the Scientific Program Committee (right) and Cara Lee Ferriera, PhD, President of the RPSC (left), present Dr. Xiang Zhang with the 2014 Berson-Yalow Award.





Past Berson-Yalow Award Winners

2013 - Eric William Price

2012 – Hao Hong

2011 - Sangeeta Ray
2010 - Shawn Hillier
2009 - Adriana Garcia
2008 – Zhaofei Liu and Fan Wang
2007 – John L. Joyal
2006 - Peter M. Smith-Jones
2005 - Michael R. Zalutsky
2004 – Henryk Barthel