Committee on Medical Uses of Isotopes Charter Renewed; Dr. Leon Malmud Named Chair

April 7, 2004

Committee on Medical Uses of Isotopes Charter Renewed; Dr. Leon Malmud Named Chair

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has renewed the charter for the Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes (ACMUI) for the two year period commencing on March 18, 2004. Dr. Leon Malmud, a past president of the SNM, will become chair of the committee this fall.

The purpose of the ACMUI is to provide advice to NRC on policy and technical issues that arise in regulating the medical use of byproduct material for diagnosis and therapy. Responsibilities include providing guidance and comments on current and proposed NRC regulations and regulatory guidance concerning medical use; evaluating certain non-routine uses of byproduct material for medical use; and evaluating training and experience of proposed authorized users. The members are involved in preliminary discussions of major issues in determining the need for changes in NRC policy and regulation to ensure the continued safe use of byproduct material. Each member provides technical assistance in his/her specific area(s) of expertise, particularly with respect to emerging technologies. Members also provide guidance as to NRC’s role in relation to the responsibilities of other Federal agencies as well as of various professional organizations and boards.

Members of this Committee have demonstrated professional qualifications and expertise in both scientific and non-scientific disciplines including nuclear medicine; nuclear cardiology; radiation therapy; medical physics; radiopharmacy; State medical regulation; patient’s rights and care; health care administration; medical research; medical dosimetry, and Food and Drug Administration regulation.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Angela Williamson, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washington, DC 20555; Telephone (301) 415-5030. Dated: March 18, 2004. Andrew L. Bates, Federal Advisory Committee, Management Officer.