Kansas Enacts Technologist Licensure Act

April 16, 2004

Kansas Enacts Technologist Licensure Act

In another state legislative victory for nuclear medicine technologists licensure, the Kansas legislature has passed and Governor Kathleen Sebelius has signed legislation requiring the licensing of radiographers, radiation therapists and nuclear medicine technologists.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2005. Licensing requirements include satisfactory completion of a course of study in radiography, radiation therapy, or nuclear medicine technology and successfully passing a license examination approved by the state Board of Healing Arts. Technologists licensed by other states may be granted a waiver on the examination. Education and examination requirements are waived for applicants who have been practicing for two of the three years preceding the effective date, and for practicing technologists who hold a current valid certificate from the ARRT or the NMTCB.

The legislation sets licensing fees and establishes a radiologic technology council to assist the state Board of Healing Arts in administering the act. The council will consist of one radiologist, one member of the Board of Healing Arts, and three licensed radiologic technologists.

The bill was introduced in early February by the Kansas Health and Human Services department as HJ 1021. It moved rapidly through the House of Representatives, passing on February 26 by a 106 to 19 vote and was introduced to the state Senate the same day. The Senate passed the bill unanimously on March 23, and Governor Sebelius signed it April 14. See below to download the full text of the bill.

Chart Listing State Licensure Status

4/16/2004 Full Text of Kansas House Bill 2698