SNMMI Remembers Alun G. Jones, PhD, and Welby N. Tauxe, MD

November 1, 2012

The nuclear medicine and molecular imaging field has lost two more pioneers this fall--Welby Newlon “Dub” Tauxe, MD, on October 13, and Alun G. Jones, PhD, on October 20.

Dr. Tauxe’s influence on nuclear medicine was profound. His career spanned more than 40 years at the Mayo Clinic, University of Alabama at Birmingham and the University of Pittsburgh. He was a founding member of the American Board of Nuclear Medicine, a board member of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and active in the European Society of Nuclear Medicine. His work in developing training standards for nuclear medicine physicians in the United States as well as many countries around the world is unsurpassed. His steady leadership was essential in the formative years of our field.

Dr. Jones was a radiochemist who worked within the Joint Program of Nuclear Medicine of Harvard Medical School. He was a professor of radiology at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital.

His work—along with that of Alan Davison, PhD, and Mike Abrams, PhD,—led to the development of Tc-99m sestamibi, the most commonly used radiopharmaceutical in nuclear medicine today. Dr. Jones received SNMMI’s two most prestigious awards, the Paul C. Aebersold Award in 1993 and the Georg Charles de Hevesy Award in 2009. He was a member of SNMMI’s PET Center of Excellence and Center for Molecular Imaging Innovation and Translation, as well as several councils, including the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council.

Dr. Jones' friendly manner will be sorely missed by those of us who called him our friend. There will be memorial service in Boston, Mass., on December 1. SNMMI will alert the membership when those plans are finalized.

The contributions Dr. Tauxe and Dr. Jones made to the nuclear medicine field will continue to have an impact of professionals now and in the future.